THE DECONSTRUCTED BLT

 

BEL’OCCHIO   …   the beautiful eye

BLT SALAD

img_1481

There is nothing quite so wonderful as a BLT Sandwich.   Layers of smoky crisp bacon, juicy tomatoes and crisp lettuce, a slather of mayonnaise all  sandwiched between slices of crusty toasted bread

Can you think of time that isn’t perfect for a BLT.  BLT for lunch, or a mid-night snack.  A BLT early Saturday morning  with a cup of freshly brewed coffee,  the morning newspaper and Willie Nelson serenading you.

Deconstruct this perfect sandwich and you have a salad that is a meal in itself.

This recipe take the luscious components of a BLT, adds crisp romaine lettuce and dresses these ingredients with a killer buttermilk dressing.    You can prepare the ingredients ahead of time, and assemble them just before serving.  Click on BLT SALAD  for this new take on an old favorite.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://belocchio.wordpress.com/2014/04/05/the-deconstructed-blt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve made these before, Virginia, and they are yummy! We don’t eat bacon that often, so when we do, it’s a treat and there’s nothing like the smell of bacon cooking. :)

    • Bacon is all about the flavour. I use it for recipes like this. It is such an asset to every dish, Lauren.

      • It is, but it’s also filled with fat, so that’s why we don’t eat it often…but we do enjoy it once in awhile. Our son still lives at home and he LOVES BLT’s, so it makes for a good casual dinner at times! :)

  2. This looks delightful! We are on these horrendous diets imposed by our cardiologist. This salad actually fits right in….perhaps dinner tonite! XXOO Tinny & A

    • Be good Tinny and Augustine! Stay with the diet you two. We love salads and consume copious amounts of those good greens. XX OO L & V

  3. This is a fantastic salad. I just tried it a few weeks ago, but instead of toast I used sweet potato fries I roasted in the oven with sea salt and pepper. Very satisfying, and a little taste twist, But you can’t go wrong with toast either. We are big fans of BLTs and this makes a nice change.

    • Sweet Potatoe Fries!! My favorite. Hard to believe something so deliciously decadent is soo good for you. I am going to add them to my next salad Gayle.

  4. What a treat this would be on a hot summer day! I had to laugh out loud when I read Willie Nelson’s name. Somehow I can not imagine you listening to him!

    • I am mad for Willie Nelson. I know all the words to the songs he sings and when no one can hear me I sing along with him Jo Nell.

  5. This sounds great Virginia! However, as a veggie I am turning it into a “TLT” Tofu, lettuce and tomatoes. “LOL”
    I know you’ll “get” this!
    Resa xoxoxo

    • Tofu is on our dinner menu at least once a week. I love the idea. I am thinking small cubes, coated with crumbs and quickly sauteed until crisp… then voila – a delicious TLT salad!!! As usual you inspire me Resa. V. XXOO


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

