FRENCH HOME Inspires Me

FRENCH HOME by Josephine Ryan is book that “explores the elements that combine to create spaces that have an identifiably French feel”.  Every page is an inspiration, every photograph a joy to behold.

I found this white plaster putti forlorn,  unadorned and unloved.    I used acrylic paint to give it this wonderful, old and weathered look.  I wanted it to look the headless saint in the FRENCH HOME  book.

And the perfect spot for this charming cherub was my very un-bathroom looking bathroom .  He hangs  below lines of poetry by Longfellow.

And he is in good company.  I gold leafed and distressed this white plaster angel shelf found in a florist’s shop.   Gold leafing with this kind of detail requires more than a little experience.  If you would like to try gold leafing start on something simple  – like a picture frame.

The  gold framed mirrors are actually very old picture frames .  I had mirrors cut to fit and now they hang over two sinks.  The wonderful old linen  towels are more thrift shop finds.

This bathroom is my sanctuary.  I can light candles , relax in a spa bath of lavender bubbles and read  my way to another world.

Leave a Reply

