I CAN REALLY, REALLY GROW KOHLRABI ! BUT WHERE ARE THE BEETS?

I’ve a bumper crop of kohlrabi.  Fortunately we love kohlrabi.  We eat it raw with a sprinkling of sea salt.  Just peel it, slice thin, and you have practically a calorie free  treat.  You can add it to salads or saute it with onions.

This was my garden May 15, 2011.  Some pathetic potatoes, lettuce doing well, but that’s it.

This is my garden today.  July 20th and I’ve created a monster.     No matter how much lettuce we eat,  like Topsy it just grows and grows and grows.  One zucchini alone crouches like a prehistoric monster  and threatens the potatoes. Alas alack there is  no sign of beets.  I’ve planted them twice and as soon as the little darlings poke their Technicolor heads through the soil something nibbles them away.     Meanwhile there’s always Kohlrabi.

2 thoughts on “I CAN REALLY, REALLY GROW KOHLRABI ! BUT WHERE ARE THE BEETS?

Leave a Reply

