“GARLIC … Allium Sativum

Garlic wonderful garlic.   I would rather be out of wine than out of garlic.  And, I do love my glass of wine before dinner.       My gardening guru friend, Dellis,  has taken this beloved ingredient to new heights.    Her house is redolent with the heady aroma of basket after basket of “varietals” of gorgeous garlic.

“Garlic used as it should be used is the soul, the divine essence,  of  cookery.  The cook who can employ it successfully will be found to possess

the delicacy of perception,

the accuracy of judgment,

and the dexterity of hand which go to the formation of a great artist.”

(Mrs. W.G. Waters in ‘The cook’s  Decameron,”  1920

“Shallots are for babies;

onions are for men;

garlic is for heroes.”

(unknown)

If you are interested in purchasing garlic,  and live in the lower mainland, click on comments and send me your E-mail address.  I’ll forward it to Dellis, the garlic girl!

4 thoughts on ““GARLIC … Allium Sativum

  1. Good for Dellis Who would not be ineterested in this beautiful garlic. The photos make me drool. Please add me to the list. However, I don’t know how garlic is ordered; by the ton…..I hope.

    Biscuit
    XO

  2. Hello my friend

    I would like to know more about growing garlic. We have a garden that you would drool over(not too great this year) and I would like to grow garlic. Can you let me know what I buy and when would I plant it?

    Love your far away friend that thinks of you SO often.

    • Donna Hall, I do believe garlic would grow brilliantly because of where you love. Garlic likes it hot and dry. That’s about all I know. I will forward your comment to my dear friend Dellis and perhaps she can recommend books.. internet site etc. that will help you. Thank you Donna for being my blog heart friend.
      Love Virginia

Leave a Reply

