JOYFUL EASTER

Chocolate Easter Eggs

In a basket.

Nestled in green cellophane grass.

White gloves ready for church.

I put on my new hat.

Pale yellow straw rimmed round with blue ribbon.

Shiny, shiny licorice black  Mary Jane’s.

Wiggle my toes.

Crisp organdy shirt waist.

Pleated skirt.

I dance and twirl  before the reflection in  the mirror.

The image smiles back.

Just one bite of my chocolate rabbit.

Perhaps a nibble on the ear.

The bells of St. Alban’s peal out in joy.

I’m off to church.

 

(memories of Easter 1943)

2 thoughts on “JOYFUL EASTER

Leave a Reply

