LOOKING AT THE WORLD THROUGH ROSE COLOURED GLASSES

I’m in a world apart

A world where roses bloom

And when you speak … angels sing from above

Everyday words seem … to turn into love songs

Give your heart and soul to me and life will always be

La vie en rose.

I am looking at the world through rose-coloured glasses.

The sword of Damocles that has been hanging over my head for five years has been removed.

Five years ago I was diagnosed with breast cancer.  Yesterday my oncologist said good-bye to me.  I was given the best news possible.   Our journey together was finished.  No more check-ups.  No more cancer clinic.

It has been an epic journey.  There were those moments when I felt I couldn’t continue the treatment any longer.  My daughter stayed me on this course.   She kept me brave and strong and positive.

This song has special meaning to me.  A bitter-sweet memory.  On our last day in Paris my daughter and I  stopped to listen to an elderly man playing the accordion.  The song was La vie en Rose.  We walked by, arms linked, and turned to each other and said “we’ll always have Paris”.

 

(Edith Piaf wrote La vie en Rose)

15 thoughts on “LOOKING AT THE WORLD THROUGH ROSE COLOURED GLASSES

    • Dear,dear Tin Man. Thank you for your words of love. Friends can by to share a bottle of bubbly last night. I think I will be celebrating for quite a while. Virginia

  1. Good Golly!! Dear Virginia, What fantastical news!! I’m cranking up Edith Piaf’s “La Vie en Rose” on the Victor-Victrola as I type this. I’m also dancing!! Lovely post. Lovely mews!! Theadora (I try to keep my rose-colored, rhinestone-encrusted cat glasses on at all times. try!)

  2. I’m so happy for you that you received good news from your doctor! Hope you never have to see him again : ) What a blessing to have that old dark cloud over you taken away. Bet the sun feels sweeter today right? Thanks for sharing such a personal story…..we will have a toast tonight for your continued good health. Looking forward to your next post : ) Ginny
    P.S. You can email me anytime at vnemchak@hotmail.com : )

  3. Tears of joy almost found their way out, Virginia! I am so happy for you and very glad your daughter was wonderful support through your difficult journey…this is a lovely post and song, thank you for sharing and spreading your joy, my friend, and I’m sending congratulatory hugs your way!

    • Lauren, I am grateful for the congratulatory hugs. This was a difficult post to write. Perhaps more about that later when I am able to write about what happened in my life during that five year period. XXOO Virginia

Leave a Reply

