COCO CHANEL . . . tells it like it should be!

chanel-4

I am not young but I feel young.  The day I feel old I will go to bed and stay there.  I’aime la vie!   I feel that to live is a wonderful thing.

A girl should be two things – CLASSY AND FABULOUS.

Fashion is not something that exists in dress only.  Fashion is in the sky, in the street, fashion has to do with ideas, the way we live, what is happening.

coco_chanel_4_v1000x1500

Don’t spend time beating on a wall, hoping to transform it into a door.

Success is often achieved by those don’t know that failure is inevitable.

Nature gives you the face you have at twenty; it is up to you to merit the face your have at fifty ….

coco_chanel_au_cinema1

A woman has the age she deserves.

There is no time for cut-and-dried monotony.  There is time for work.  And time for love.  That leaves no other time!

Coco Chanel

Hard times arouse an instinctive desire for authenticity.

Fashion fades, only style remains the same.

The most courageous act is still to think for yourself.

Coco Chanel

There are people who have money and people who are rich.

Elegance does not consist in putting on a new dress.

coco-chanel

You live but once you might as well be amusing.

If you were born without wings, do nothing to prevent them from growing.

coco-chanel2

 

You can be gorgeous at thirty – charming at forty and irresistible for the rest of your life.

23 thoughts on “COCO CHANEL . . . tells it like it should be!

  1. AH. Virginia! And you are fabulous. I love this post. I love the quotes and beautiful photographs. What a great birthday present!! I’m off now to throw on all my rings and pearls, too. I needed this post, by the way. Thanks for the glorious motivation, inspiration, and sunshine!! Gosh, I keep scrolling up and down the post. What great eyebrows, eh? Living the life. Coco knows. Merci!! Gorgeous. T. (I also love the lighting fixture in the third photograph.

    • HAPPY BIRTHDAY! A glorious happy magnificent draped in pearls kind of day. A champagne sparkling day of days. Live today! Buckets of hugs. Magnums of love. Virginia

    • We woman need Coco Chanel in our life. Not just for the fashion, but for do-or-die, take-no-prisoners attitude. Because of her I brush my wings daily. Take off the extra accessories. Flirt outrageously with my husband. Even when the sun doesn’t shine I wear my vintage Chanel sunglasses (found in a bin oat thrift shop just 49cents). I love any excuse to carry my quilted Chanel hand bag ($4 thrift shop again). I may be 77 years old but I do not intend to take to my bed EVER. Xx Oo V. Again and again HAPPY BIRTHDAY.

    • Yes indeed – her eye brows are fabulous. Coco Chanel has been my inspiration for more than fifty years. I was 21 years old when I received my first bottle of Chanel #5 perfume. Virginia

  2. I can’t decide if her most important contribution to fashion was:
    The Little Black Dress….or
    Breaking that scoldable rule about wearing white in winter. She wore white year round..
    A lovely remembrance.

    • I had forgotten the big about white year round. She was indeed an amazing woman. Not just her fashion sense but her strong will, and the ability to rise above adversity. Virginia

  3. Oh, Virginia, you have given inspiration to women of any age and any means by this post on Coco Channel. It is not how much it cost but how you wear something. Thanks for the quotes and photos.

    You you are an inspiration also And I must remember to flirt with my husband! You have a great weekend!

  4. Quotes can tell us so much about a person! Thanks for sharing these. I bought the Coco Chanel movie DVD a while back. I think it’s time to watch it. You’ve inspired me. Love your site!

    • Lori thanks for giving me a heads up about the Chanel movie. I had it on my list to watch and then forgot about it. I’m ordering it from our Library today. Chanel has certainly been an inspiration for me through the years. I mostly wear different styles of jeans – but then I top them with a beautiful jacket. At night my favorite outfit is a pair of slim ankle length white jeans and then an elaborate jacket. When you’re sitting down at a restaurant people only see my top half! Viraginia

Leave a Reply

