A RUSTIC FRENCH APPLE TART

It’s not always easy to find the right apple for cooking.     For pie you need an apple that will hold it’s shape, such as Cortland, Red Spry, Golden Delicious and Empire.  You can use all of one kind, but in this recipe I have combined both firm apples and apples you would use for making applesauce (Braeburn, Crispin, Fuji, McIntosh).

When I made desserts for our French restaurant they were elaborate; bete noire with creme anglais and raspberry sauce,  Grand Marnier souffle, creme brulee and so on,  extravagant, rich creations to indulge the senses.

Now I prefer a simpler style of baking.  This recipe is the quintessential  country French apple tart.    This is a wonderful  version that is great for beginners because you don’t have to worry about rolling the pastry into any particular shape.

The pastry for this pie is so delicately flaky it whispers as you cut into it.  I’ve just  dusted the pie with icing sugar, but if you want to gild the lily a few drifts of softly whipped vanilla flavoured  cream would be lovely.  For this and other delicious treats skip over to my culinary “other world”  MRS. BUTTERFINGERS.  Simply click on RUSTIC APPLE TART.

 

9 thoughts on “A RUSTIC FRENCH APPLE TART

    • I am happy you enjoy the recipes. I like to share the truly outstanding recipes with my friends and blog readers. Of all the apple pies I have ever made this is my best recipe..

  1. I would love to learn how to make a really good flaky pastry, mine is always a little heavy.. certainly not the whispery kind! I just planted a mackintosh apple tree too! c

    • My Father started out as an apprentice in a Hovis bakery in Britain. Even though he went on to be come a professional Chef he always loved baking. When my parents would come to visit he would fill my deep-freeze with pies. He could make a dozen pies in the time it would take me to make a pot of tea. My your apple tree bear you many many apples for many many pies!! V.

Leave a Reply

