JIM KELLY – AND A QUARTET OF GRIPPING MYSTERY NOVELS

`

I reluctantly read the last page of my book.

It’s been a few weeks and  I have been far, far away in The Fens of Eastern England.

Every watchful,  the towering shadows of Ely Cathedral … the watery, marshy lands of the Fens … have dominated  the landscape of my thoughts.

The poetic writing.

The fiendish twists and turns.

The gripping  plots of Jim Kelly’s quartet of superb whodunits  has been read after dazzlingly read.

{EF8C2531-D833-4962-BF76-FEB837675D6E}Img100

The series begins with DEATH WORE WHITE and a chilly introduction to the protagonists – DI  Peter Shaw and DI George Valentine.

Deathwatch

Twists pile on twists in DEATH WATCH.

Death-Toll

Then DEATH TOLL  with page after page of suspense, gore and excitement.

jkdd

The fourth  DEATH’S DOOR   with  the dark secrets of an isolated community in the stunning landscape of the desolate Norfolk coast.

For lovers of the keenly intelligent  British Detective genre,  Jim Kelly is at the top of my list of favorite British authors.  He joins the ranks of Ian Rankin, P.D. James, Ruth Rendell, Peter Robinson, Stephen Booth, Andrew Taylor, Graham Hurley, and John Harvey.

10 thoughts on “JIM KELLY – AND A QUARTET OF GRIPPING MYSTERY NOVELS

    • I read in bed at night, and early in the morning. I am a fast reader – but then I have had years of practice. There is no doubt that books play a major role in my life. I tell everyone “when I die scatter my ashes in the garden in front of our little library in Ladner”. Virginia

  1. I will have to add Jim Kelly & the others to my list of authors. Now and then I need a British fix and need to read something set there -especially a mystery. P.D. James is my favorite but at her age she may not have too many books left in her. I do my reading at night in bed.

    • Jo Nell I can absolutely guarantee that this author is the ticket. I do my reading at night … usually an hour. But one night I read one of Jim Kelly’s book straight through until 3 am. I have NEVER done that before this author. So hang up your hammock and be prepared for some cool reading with his first book Death Wore White. It takes place in the dead of winter and it will have you shivering. XX V.

  2. You have wetted my appetite……..these sound marvelous!
    I love the way you have teased us……..here are some words from Felicia Hemans to add to the intrigue……

    Son of the Ocean Isle!
    Where sleep your mighty dead?
    Show me that high and stately pile
    Is rear’d o’er Glory’s bed.

    Go, starnger! track the deep –
    Free, free the white sail spread!
    Wave may not foam, nor wild wind sweep,
    Where rest not England’s dead.

    Felicia Hemans . 1793-1835

    • This poem captures the spirit of The Fens. Jim Kelly lives in Ely. His descriptions of The Fens and the sea is poetry disguised as prose. His characters are wonderfully detailed, multi- faceted. I adore a beautifully written novel. And to have it in the British detective genre is simply the icing on the cake. I now have two authors in this genre who take the written world to soaring heights … Louise Penny and Jim Kelly. Thank you Tin Man for this poem. XXOo V.

    • How many times I’ve picked up a book than discovered after the first page I had already read it. I am on your page Janet. Jim Kelly hasn’t had the press in North America. I only discovered him about a month ago … and I actively pursue good detective fiction. Having The Fens as a setting for his novels, plus his poetic writings, makes him an unforgettable author. V.

    • How absolutely splendid. I know all about devouring good mystery books. That’s why I get so excited when I discover a good new author. Your Mom will be so happy to meet Shaw and Valentine in these fab novels. XX Virginia

Leave a Reply

