STOP ALL THE CLOCKS

IMG_0480

Stop all the clocks, cut off the telephone,

Prevent the dog from barking with a juicy bone,

Silence the pianos and with muffled drum

Bring out the coffin, let the mourners come.

Let aeroplanes circle moaning overhead

Scribbling on the sky the message He Is Dead,

Put creme bows round the white necks of the public doves,

Let the traffic policemen wear black cotton gloves.

He was my North, my South, my East and West,

My working week and my Sunday rest,

My noon, my midnight, my talk my song,

I thought that love would last for ever.  I was wrong.

The stars are not wanted now;  put out every one,

Pack up the moon and dismantle the sun,

Pour away the ocean and sweep up the wood.

For nothing now can every come to any good.

(W. H. Auden –  Funeral Blues)

27 thoughts on “STOP ALL THE CLOCKS

  1. Oh Virginia, I was so very overwhelmed to see Rox looking out from the screen, so incredibly beautiful. I have tears for you all this morning. It is so unfair. It seems to me, however, that her light is shining ever brightly through you and in others thoughts and memories. Maybe part of your inspiration is what comes directly from Rox to you. Her physical presence is gone from your life, I cannot imagine. You have so many unbelieveably wonderful memories of your fun and time together. A mother daughter relationship. I don’t know. But I am sending you a hug and then some.
    xo pat

    • Pat, my dear friend, we still shed these tears of sadness but it was her courage, her elegance in dealing with something so dreadful, that sustained me through that difficult time. It was a stunning news to be diagnosed with breast cancer during that same time but her bravery became my strength. This is a favorite photograph of Roxanne. I took it New Year’s Eve. XXOO V.

  2. Virginia, the Tin Man does not know what to say…..his heart hurts. I watched my Mother loose a son and saw the sorrow that was so deep that I could peer into the very core of her. Roxanne was so very beautiful and I so agree with Margo, “What an ethereally magnificent angel, resplendent in Royal Purple.” I found this poem for you and hope the wonderful memories of your beautiful Roxanne wrap around you like a cape of soft fur, giving you comfort and peace, my friend.

    Sometimes

    © Colleen Ranney

    Sometimes I catch a glimpse,
    In softened waves of blue
    My child, my heart …when I see a smile
    I can’t help but think of you

    Sometimes these waves fill oceans.
    And feelings string on every shore
    A collections of each memory
    And every way I wish for more

    Sometimes I watch for answers
    Because each day I call to you
    I ask for faith and courage
    And strength …to help me through

    Sometimes I ask for bravery
    Like dolphins in the deep
    Because time moves oh so slowly
    And some times the road is steep

    Sometimes I want to scream
    This was not what I had planned
    Why you ever suffered
    A mom can’t understand

    Sometimes I hear your laughter
    And remember you at play
    But My Child I always miss you
    Not sometimes, but everyday

    • All those words in this heart-felt poem are so very true. Thank you for the gift of this poem, Tin Man. It was Roxanne’s bravery through the years of her fight that sustained me then and now. To be anything but strong and positive would negate her strength and courage. Roxanne was not only beautiful in body and soul, she had an incredible mind. While living in Tokyo, separated, from family and friends, she chose to embrace her life there. Roxanne worked hard and became proficient in speaking, reading and writing the Japanese language. She embraced the people, the culture and the elegant manners of the country. She was the light of my life. XX V.

  3. Oh my! I’m so sorry to hear this, Virginia! My heart goes out to you.
    I clicked like, not because I like to hear this news, but because I like you and like to support you in your time of grief.
    If I could stop clocks I would.
    Love to you, Virginia! Hugs and kisses _Resa xoxoxoxo

      • i’m so sorry to hear this, and i know the loss must be staggering for you. it is my worst fear in life. i lost my sister, my best friend when we were in our early 20s, years ago and i think of her every day still. i also lost my young nephew at age 5, and he will also be with me forever. you are right the memories will always be there, though some days are harder than ever. best, beth

  4. Virginia, what a beautiful woman Roxanne was, and how wonderful the relationship you so obviously enjoyed together; I was so sorry to hear of your loss and hope that whilst time can never truly heal, it at least helps the rawness to lose its edge and the happy memories to come to the fore once again… thinking of you. x

    • Kate my daughter and I were incredibly close. It is the happy memories that keep me focused and positive about life. It is the way she lived her life and I can do no less. Virginia

  5. I clicked ‘like” in honor of your beautiful Roxanne as her face shines with beauty and love from the photograph. Only a mother’s heart can know such love and loss. Peace to you. xxxooo

    • Not only was my darling Roanne a beautiful woman with a loving soul, she was any amazing person. When her and her husband purchased their first house she started gardening. She knew nothing about gardening but was eager to learn. She became a Master Gardener and then went on to attend Guelph Agriculture college. I learned a great deal from her. XX V.

  6. no words. the poem speaks for itself. such sadness. but her light has not dimmed. i can see her inner beauty was as great as her outer beauty. a gift to have loved her. thank you for sharing this intimate moment.

Leave a Reply

