THE STARS ARE BRIGHT

9345282435_8900ba43dd_z

Last night,  leaving a trail of tidiness I wandered through our home picking up the detritus of the day; fluffing pillows;  corralling errant books and newspapers;  a ritual of leaving each room how I would like to find it in the morning;  finally turning out the small lamp in the living room.  I don’t enjoy walking past dark rooms.  I leave this tiny light burning for myself and those travelers driving down our country road.  This beacon that gives our home a warm, welcoming look in the dark night.

 

2835127545_227ba2e59d_o

Last night, as I turned off this last lamp the room  filled with a silvery light.   An enormous full moon.  It drew me out and in the country dark  the moon rays glistened on the white flower garden and shimmered on a lace of cobwebs in the grass.  I looked up and across the heavens as background to the full moon –  the stars.  I thought of these words  . . .

“If the stars should appear one night in a thousand years, how would men believe and adore; and preserve for many generations the remembrance of the City of God which had been shown.  But every night come out these envoys of beauty and light the universe with their admonishing smile.”

(Ralph Waldo Emerson,  1803 – 1882,  from “Nature and Selected Essays”

14 thoughts on “THE STARS ARE BRIGHT

  1. It was a most glorious moon last night (and early autumn/harvest moon?) – followed a brilliant gold/fushia/scarlet sunset here. And is was pleasantly cooler as we walked to the lake. Nice to be outdoors again – your place sounds so peaceful

  2. I missed the Blue Moon this week but your post made up for it. The moon is brighter in the country but we live on the edge of town so often I will walk out to enjoy the silver light that looks good on anyone at any age. Your white flower is beautiful!

    • My flower garden has been nothing short of spectacular this year, Jo Nell. The most rain even through the winter, and now the most sun ever has made the garden lush and beautiful. And, made me very very happy. XX Virginia

    • Lauren we have been enjoying an amazing summer. Day after day of sunshine. This after the wettest winter on record. No wonderful everything is lush and green. Lots of bbq’s and dining al fresco. Take care. XX V.

      • It does sound wonderful, Virginia. I love the winter time and spring around here when everything is green and lush. Summer has its own fun, but the hills are brown right now..but I also love the fall, which is around the corner…:)

  3. I am going to try again………I have tried 5 times to leave a comment and silly WordPress would not let me!!! I so enjoyed the Blue Moon and like you, was out taking photographs and then was overcome with the mystery of the night and spent until 4:00 AM sitting and listening to the night. Marvelous, Emerson’s words were so very beautiful.

    • In the quiet of the country night – neck craned to take in the brilliance of the moon and the night sky, I wondered if we were sharing this moon, Tinny. The magnificence of it all makes one feel very small and insignificant. XX V.

Leave a Reply

