REASONS TO DRINK CHAMPAGNE

There’s many reasons to raise a glass of champagne.

Wonderful reasons.

Humble reasons.

A diamond from Tiffany’s.

A published book.

Sunset over the Aegean

Pasta made successfully.

A phone call from the past.

No reason at all.  Just because.

I originally wrote this post with  “ten reasons  to drink bubbly”.  How limiting!  I am in Paris wandering through a museum-art gallery day with Theadora of PEOPLE, PLACES AND BLING.  Her blog on Paris in August is Paris in love.  Museums to check out.  Art Galleries to see and be seen

Scan10012

The day will end sipping champagne with Tinny at a table at Le Procope on a quiet part of St. Germain des Pres.  There will be three icy cold glasses on table.  The third glass has Theadora’s name on it.

Now here are the original ten reasons to drink champagne:

“Champagne is the only wine that leaves a woman beautiful after drinking it” – Madame de Pompadour.

“Too much of anything is bad, but too much champagne is just right” – F. Scott Fitzgerald

“Three be the things I shall never attain: envy, content and sufficient champagne” – Dorothy Parker

“You can never be too rich, too thin, or have too much champagne in your refrigerator” – Virginia B.

“As symbols go, champagne is extraordinarily powerful.  It makes you feel like it’s Sunday and better days are just around the corner” – Marlene Dietrich

One night at The Ritz, Tallulah Bankhead drank champagne from her own slipper.  Another good reason not to wear open toe shoes.  Virginia B.

There are about 250 million bubbles in a bottle of champagne.  Take a flute of champagne into your bath and double your fun.  Take your partner into the bath and the sky’s the limit. Virginia B.

“Champagne, if you are seeking the truth, is better than a lie detector:”- Graham Greene

Never tamper with a good bottle of Champagne.    It’s indecent to even think of Kir Royale or black velvet.  Virginia B.

Drink good champagne, and only good champagne.  Drink it morning, noon or night and you’ll never have a hangover.  Virginia B.

10 thoughts on “REASONS TO DRINK CHAMPAGNE

  1. Pingback: Ten Reasons to Drink Champagne | Mrs. Butterfingers

  2. Oh, Virginia, I love all the reasons you have listed to drink champagne! I try to keep a bottle chilled just in case we need to celebrate because it is Tuesday or for just being alive. But how wonderful to have some in Paris! Cheers, my dear friend!

  3. I’m here! I’m here! The next bottle is my treat! And oh, MY. Virginia, What a fantastic nod to Champagne!! Hands-down, it’s a favorite. I love the shot of you. And the quotes! There’s not a dud in the batch. Not one! They’re all gems. Especially the tale about Tallulah Bankhead slipper. “Another good reason not to wear open toe shoes” -so true! I needed giggles. I needed the bubbles. This post is corker! Merci! T. (The Graham Greene clip is also pretty darn nifty!)

  4. Oh, for the love, my head is a-spin! How I so enjoyed the evening at Le Procope! You looked so very divine and just when I though I could have not another, here is Theadora with another bottle. Pure delights!
    ……and I so agree, “You can never be too rich, too thin, or have too much champagne in your refrigerator” You are such a love, you have brought so many delights with this post!

    • Here’s a great Champagne story about Elegant Son, He was 18 years old. Very responsible. We had no worries going away for a week-end and leaving him on his own. On our return he met us a the door saying “Mom, I had a party while you were away.” Fearing the worst we walked into a perfect house. Nothing out of place.
      “What kind of a party did you have?”
      “A dinner party of course. There were 6 of us.” he replied, ( like what other kind would I have). “We cleaned up, and I washed and ironed the napkins.”
      “I didn’t think you would mind, we had a small glass of wine each. I’ll replace the bottle.”
      It was a bottle of Dom Perignon. His dinner party cost him $90. The best part of the tale is those same guests ended up all going to university in Vancouver, and 27 years later they still talk about the dinner party and Callum serving them Dom Perignon. He definitely is his Mother’s child. XX V.

      • Oh how very wonderful! What a delightful story! How many 18 year olds would throw a dinner party when their parents are away today??!!!? I just love it, what incredible memories. I am sure that story has been told hundreds of times and always brings a laugh and a smile to every face hearing it. Ha…….Dom Perignon……good taste that son of yours…….he is his Mother’s child!!!

    • I have those words “raise a glass” in French, painted on a mirror that for years hung in our kitchen. Now it hangs in my atelier reminding me of Paris, and to stop work and have a glass. V.

Leave a Reply

