THE SILK OF A SPIDER

1509222530_9f49b22e9b_z

I would like to share with you a simple but very lovely story.

Yesterday,  husband Lar, with two companions, Ross and Doug,  were hiking one of our local mountains.  As they climbed they left sunshine behind and moved through heavy mist.  They walked quietly, single file, without speaking.

Ross was leading.  He stopped.  “Look at this spider silk. ”

Ahead  a spider silk stretched across the trail from tree to tree.  The silvery silk was more than thirty feet long.  It waved gently in the breeze.  Respectfully Ross ducked under the thread, Lar and Doug followed crunching low  avoiding the silk.

They climbed on to the summit.    They were above the clouds.  Around them the tops of the surrounding mountains poked through the mist.  For this brief time they were in another place.   A place where they could renew their spirits and leave behind the detritus of the week.

Ross and Doug are occupational therapists.  Daily they work to mend the ravages and misfortunes of the human body,  and through  this  the silk thread to the soul.

australia-spider-web-694572-ga

22 thoughts on “THE SILK OF A SPIDER

  1. A magical moment shared from another place and another time. A sublime takeaway visit bolted me out of an otherwise dreary rat race conundrum! I was there for a moment! I swear! I could feel the path beneath my boots. I could smell the air and feel the lush freshness of nature. The ringing of the whispering hushes, yes, the magic! I think its fair to say all your posts are magical, whimsical and always shimmering with timeless beauty of expression!

    Thank you, Aunte Jean!

    Jonathan

    • Jon, when your Uncle Lar related the story to me he said,”These are my friends. So respectful, so thoughtful it wouldn’t even to occur to them to walk through the thread”. Here on the farm we often discover rather large Wolf spiders hiding under chairs and in dark corners. Lar uses an elegant spider catcher – a top from my Chanel#5 powder box and an old coaster from the Tokyo Hotel. The spiders are deposited outside safe and sound, and away from me!! XXXOOO Auntie Jean

      • Thank you warmly 🙂 Its funny because my wife would be the one to rescue me from spiders creeping around from the inside. She is the type to lovingly capture all manner of (members of the insect world) and to set them afree in the outside world. Including house flies!? lol! Jonathan…

    • Jo Nell we do live in a wonderful place. When you are short of time the local mountains are about 45 minutes away. The threesome do like to go farther afield, and sometimes overnight in the mountains. What is so important they are such kindred spirits. They have been mountaineering the climbing together for many years. Virginia

  2. How beautiful……I always love to walk during the sunrise after a misty night and watch the light catch in the silvery threads. Lar is a very special man.

    Silk-thin silver strings woven cleverly into a lair,
    An intricate entwining of divinest thread…
    Like strands of magic worked upon the air,
    The spider spins his enchanted web –
    His home so eerily, spiraling spreads.

    His gossamer so rigid, yet lighter than mist,
    And like an eight-legged sorcerer – a wizard blest,
    His lace, like a spell, he conjures and knits;
    I witnessed such wild ingenuity wrought and finessed,
    Watching the spider weave a dream from his web.

    Jonathan Platt

    • Oh my saintly ruby slippers and enchanted webs, Tinny. Jonathan Platt gives dignity and respect to the much maligned spider. His words are pure enchantment and slip like dream into my heart.XxOO V.

  3. Virginia, I loved this post. It made me think of my favorite spider, Charlotte. I found one of my favorite passages in E.B White’s “Charlotte’s Web.”

    “Why did you do all this for me?” he asked. “I don’t deserve it. I’ve never done anything for you.”

    “You have been my friend,” replied Charlotte. “That in itself is a tremendous thing. I wove my webs for you because I liked you. After all, what’s a life, anyway? We’re born, we live a little while, we die. A spider’s life can’t help being something of a mess, with all this trapping and eating flies. By helping you, perhaps I was trying to lift up my life a trifle. Heaven knows anyone’s life can stand a little of that.”

    “Well,” said Wilbur. “I’m no good at making speeches. I haven’t got your gift for words. But you have saved me, Charlotte, and I would gladly give my life for you—I really would.”

    (I’d like to read “The Story of Charlotte’s Web: E. B. White’s Eccentric Life in Nature and the Birth of an American Classic” by Michael Sims! T.)

    • It has been so long since I read this book to my children I had forgotten about Charlotte. You have brought back a million memories Theadora. The passage you chose relates so well to Lar’s story. Not one of those three mountaineers would dream of wantonly taking the life of a spider. It is what makes them such outstanding human beings. They make me proud. XX Virginia

Leave a Reply

