MY BEAUTIFUL GRANDMOTHER … an altered board book BEAUTY FROM THE PAST

image0-1

My Grandmother   l902.  This collection of old photographs provided the inspiration for the altered book that was an 80th Birthday present for my older sister

image1

My Grandparents wedding portrait.  Married in Old Lambeth Church, London May 2, 1903

image0

My Mother,  her Brother and a whippet named Mim.

With these and other pictures I’ve created a story of family in my altered board book.  It’s part real and part fantasy.  But isn’t that what life is about?

3 thoughts on “MY BEAUTIFUL GRANDMOTHER … an altered board book BEAUTY FROM THE PAST

    • Darling girl – I just rather slipped that post in. Here’s the fascinating back story about that photograph. In London, at that time, photographers would sell the photos that took of beautiful woman – out of their studios. My merchant seaman Grandfather was walking down a street with some chums and they spotted her photograph in the window. They didn’t believe my Grandfather when he told them that was his sweetheart – until he introduced her to them. She was l8 years old and of course absolutely no make up. XX Virginia

Leave a Reply

