ALL ABOUT EASTER BONNETS

BEL’OCCHIO    …   the beautiful eye

HAPPY EASTER

Vintage-Rooster-Hatching-GraphicsFairy

When I was very young Easter was as exciting as Christmas.  We always had something new to wear to church. Growing up during the war years and the tail end of the Great Depression   a pair of  white gloves or hair ribbons was a thrilling gift.

My dream was to wear an Easter Bonnet.  Irving Berlin’s song …   “In your Easter Bonnet, with all the frills upon it, you’ll be the grandest lady in the Easter Parade”  inspired me.     I was not exactly sure what an Easter bonnet looked like but I wanted one.

Weather was another problem with my Easter dream.   Cold and miserable.   No daffodils or tulips blooming.  Just snow, or the dirty remnants of it.   Dressing for church meant warm scarves and hats.   Flopping galoshes and  unattractive heavy brown cotton stockings that bagged at the knees.

 The light through the stained glass windows of  St Alban’s Cathedral coloured  the congregation. The air was heavy with the perfume of white lilies on the alter. The oak pews and the padded kneeling pads creaked  and groaned  as we stood and sang, kneeled and prayed, sat and listened.  The pages of the hymn books fluttered and whispered .   And, not one single  Easter bonnet in sight.

I loved the ritual of Easter dinner preparations.  The polishing of the silver.  The pressing of the linen tablecloth.  The setting the beautiful table.    The food  – oh the glorious food.   An enormous ham cut into think pink slices and garnished with home-made mustard pickles.    Mounds of snowy white whipped potatoes  redolent with cream and butter.   And for dessert flaky rich pies.  At least two different kinds.  And, always always a three tired cake plate with delicate cookies and fruit cakes – just in case one was still hungry.

HAPPY EASTER my dear, dear friends.   Now I’m going to nibble the chocolate ears off my Easter bunny.

17 thoughts on “ALL ABOUT EASTER BONNETS

    • Confessions of a mother who ate chocolate bunny ears … My children would look at me with accusing eyes and I stoutly denied any knowledge of the ear-less rabbits. I assured them that it happened to all chocolate bunnies after Easter Sunday. We are going to Callum’s for Easter dinner. I shall have to hunt to find his chocolate rabbit … tradition must continue.
      See you both in a couple of weeks. XX OO L & V

  1. Hoppy Easter my far away friend.
    We did not have ham we had turkey and all of the trimmings but the best part of all was a 4 layered cake that Natalie made. I had to remove a shelf from our fridge to accommodate it’s size. Blue, green, orange and red with fluffy white icing………it was scrumptious.
    Love your Kamloops friend

    • I’m not exactly sure what I thought an Easter bonnet would look like, but I was sure it would be more interesting than the felt hats and berets that the woman were wearing. But the weather was still miserable and Easter did not mean spring in Northern Saskatchewan. I hope you had a lovely Easter week-end Jo Nell. XX V.

  2. A delightful account of Easter, Virginia, especially thinking about a time when ribbons and white gloves were prized Easter presents. And even though we had a delicious spread yesterday, your mention of rich pies and mashed potatoes has my stomach growling on this Easter Monday in Germany. 🙂 Hope yours was a lovely one!

    • My son and his wife cooked a magnificent Easter dinner. What a joyous treat Lauren. The cool weather means the spring flowering trees and shrubs, tulips and daffodils kept their beautiful colours and blossoms just a little bit longer. XX V.

Leave a Reply

