SPRING AND EVERYONE’S IN LOVE

 

 

HotAirBalloonBoy-GraphicsFairy

 BEL’OCCHIO   …   the beautiful eye

who knows if the moon’s
a balloon, coming out of a keen city
in the sky-filled with pretty people?
(and if you and i should

get into it, if they
should take me and take you into their balloon,
why then
we’d go up higher with all the pretty people

than houses and steeples and clouds:
go sailing
away and away sailing into a keen
city which nobody’s ever visited, where

always,
it’s
Spring) and everyone’s
in love and flowers pick themselves

 

IMG_0475

(e.e. cummings 18914 – 1962.  This American poet wrote 2,900 poems.  He is remembered as an eminent voice of the 20th Century.)

12 thoughts on “SPRING AND EVERYONE’S IN LOVE

    • e.e. cummings has come to my rescue so many times when I have been so heart-sick I needed some one else to say the words I could not write. To borrow from Byron – Oh Gentle Tin Man – walk in beauty like the night of cloudless climes and starry skies and all that’s best of dark and bright.

    • e.e. does right by us all. In amongst those hundreds of poems is the perfect thought. He has been my go to poet when I cannot write the words that are in my heart, and need him to translate something calm to read. XX V.

  1. I think I have missed this one by e.e. but I really like it. “Flowers pick themselves,” perfect. Your illustrations are perfect too! Enjoy spring – my favorite time of the year. Unfortunately our springs turn quickly into summers!

    • It is the reverse here Jo Nell. Spring starts late in January when the mock cherry trees bloom and then continues in dribs and drabs with lots of rain until late June AND THEN IT’S SUMMER., Hope you are having a lovely week-end. All excited here for the Tin Man and Augustine arrive soon!!

Leave a Reply

