A DREAM OF SCARLET POPPIES

 

BEL’OCCHIO   … the beautiful eye

A DREAM OF SCARLET POPPIES

IMG_1167

“Many scarlet poppies

IMG_1167

blossomed all about across the meadows

IMG_1166

that were so brilliant in colour

IMG_1169

they almost dazzled Dorothy’s eyes.

IMG_1175

“Aren’t theybeautiful?” the girl asked,

IMG_1176

as she breathed in the spicy scent

of the beautiful flowers.”

IMG_1157

She put aside the book of Oz.

Plundered her garden of poppies.

Filled the rooms with scarlet memories.

And said, “there’s no place like home”.

(Words from The Wonderful Wizard of Oz – 1900 – words by the author  L. Frank Baum..  Flowers from my garden picked this glorious day.)

8 thoughts on “A DREAM OF SCARLET POPPIES

  1. Absolutely beautiful bouquet! I had to leave all my oriental poppies behind, but I’ve just sown California poppy seed along the edge of the drive. They are so intense and yet so delicate. You’re lucky to have a field of them.

    • I started my Oriental poppies from seed years ago. For a long time I had just the one small clump. Finally after ten years they multiplied and now they are a gorgeous show. Love California poppies too – They are the colour of sunshine.

    • The Oriental poppies are just one more example of the enormous influence The Wizard of Oz movie had on an impressionable child. It wasn’t until I moved from the harsh prairies to this gentle climate that I was finally able to grow these outrageously flamboyant flowers. Of course Tinny – I’m sure they served scones and jam in Oz!

    • It is a gorgeous splash of brilliant scarlet .. more than a hundred blooms. My best show yet. This morning I had to go out and cut roses – so many blossoms on one branch they were bending it over. Again – a great growing season so far Jo Nell.

    • A flamboyant statement in the garden. This is the best year yet for my outrageous darlings. My California poppies seemed to have disappeared but I did see a few blooms out on the compost heap. You have a grand week-end too Lauren. XX V.

Leave a Reply

