HOW A PIG CHANGED MY LIFE AND I BAKE THE PERFECT PIE CRUST

 

IMG_1659

It was an old-fashioned family Sunday dinner.  Roast leg of pork with lovely crackling and deep rich gravy.  Fresh from the garden jewel ruby beets peeled and roasted with brilliant orange carrots.   And for dessert pie with blueberry filling flavoured with just a whisper of cinnamon and lemon .

We were eating our own farm-raised pork.  The pie crust was made with leaf lard I rendered from our pig.  We bowed our heads respectively and thanked our pig for  what it had provided.  How you look at food changes when it does not come plastic-wrapped from the super market.

When I plan  a dinner menu I almost always start at the end.  The dessert!  You always remember the last thing you eat.  I have been on a pie making binge since leaf lard ( the Rolls Royce of lard)  came into my life.  After experimenting using leaf lard in my usual recipes this particular recipe hands down wins the blue ribbon.

No leaf lard in your larder?  Very cold vegetable shortening is an acceptable substitute.  There are a few tricks that will practically guarantee a flaky delicious pastry, and change your pie making life.   For this BASIC PIE DOUGH join me in the kitchen and start rolling out your pastry.

 

 

11 thoughts on “HOW A PIG CHANGED MY LIFE AND I BAKE THE PERFECT PIE CRUST

  1. Oh to have been at the table with you! Delightful, delectable, deliciousness! I have been a bit worried about you, as you have been quiet of late. Good to see you here. We are hunkered down in the cold here and battling the usual winter viruses that seem to thrive this time of the year. Miss in you and love you both!

    • We too were concerned about you and Augustine so very far away from us. ESPECIALLY after our adventures in the Catacombs of Paris. It was a rather unusual way to celebrate Halloween. But Theadora was there to greet a rather emotional two as we exited the ghostly underground. Next year we will follow T’s map of scary places in Paris. XX L & V

    • The pie was my my mighty fine! Delicious pastry. I made a blueberry filling. We are surrounded by blueberry fields and last fall 25 pounds of blueberries showed up at my doorstep. The growers appreciate the fact that we live with noise makers they fire off to keep the starlings away and are very generous to us.

    • It’s all this “magic” that makes pie so interesting. I could quite cheerfully make a pie every day. And even more cheerfully eat it. But one must watch one’s waistline! I do hope you are having a good week-end. XX OO V.

Leave a Reply

