A BRAVE NEW YEAR. A NEW BEGINNING.

 

 

il_340x270.662324223_c0cn

I opened the tall windows that looked out on the street.     In the distance I heard excited voices counting down.

“Six, Sept, nuit.”

I opened the windows overlooking the tiny courtyard,

and  hurried  into the pantry to grab  pots and a pans.

“Neuf, dix, minuit.”

I opened the heavy wooden door letting out the old year.  Ushering in the new.

“Happy New Year.  HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE,” I cried as I banged the pans together.  “Happy New Year,” I shouted walking up and down outside my little house in Paris.

The last several hours had been spent sweeping away the cobwebs of old memories.

Dusting out the corners of past thoughts.  Cleaning away the detritus of the old year.   Tabula Ras – a clean slate  for this brave new year.

And this brave new year will be filled with more.    More of simple pleasures.    More evenings  lingering with friends and family over Sunday night dinner.  More watching the dying embers of the outdoor fire and listening to night sounds.    More rainy days spent rereading favorite books.    More of just being.  More taking joy in the simple pleasures of this precious, ordinary life.

paris-courtyard

The sound of the revelers fade away.  Reluctantly I close all the windows.  Shut the big door with a resounding thump.  I have lined up twelve church candles. The beginning of a ritual.  On the first night of each month I will light a candle   Today is a fresh new day and anything is possible.   Tonight I will light the first candle.

 

mercury-silver-candlestick-chunky-church-candle

 

And now let us welcome the New Year, 

Full of things that have never been.”

(Rainer Maria Rilke)

 

 

19 thoughts on “A BRAVE NEW YEAR. A NEW BEGINNING.

  1. Great post…,
    After all to be precise all that we wish for is a great new beginning with the promises that it may bring or break with it.
    But all said & done…its the Hope that we look at in a New Year that drives us all
    Happy New Year 2015 !!!

    • There is nothing like a mind journey to my house in Paris to put things in perspective. NO resolutions. That’s too much pressure … especially when you don’t keep them. Happy New Year’s Day dear JoNell. XX Virginia

  2. What a lovely post for the new year, Virginia, and this paragraph says it all:

    And this brave new year will be filled with more. More of simple pleasures. More evenings lingering with friends and family over Sunday night dinner. More watching the dying embers of the outdoor fire and listening to night sounds. More rainy days spent rereading favorite books. More of just being. More taking joy in the simple pleasures of this precious, ordinary life.

    Happy New Year!
    Lauren ♥

    • I read your poetry Lauren and you inspire me. The ritual of light a candle – the special candles – will remind me not to waste a precious moment of our life. A most Happy New Year to you and all your love. XX Virginia

      • Thanks so much, Virginia. That’s nice to hear and lighting candles happens often in our house. My husband and I both love the ambience they create and also the scents…xxx

  3. Candles play an important role in our home. On gloomy days I light candles. Dinner calls for candle light. I have an ever growing collection of candle holders and I love using them. Bonne Annee Gayle. XXX Virginia

    • I appreciate the writings of Rainer Maria Rilke. He inspires me with just a few sentences. Janet my very good wishes for a happy 2015 for you and yours family. Virginia

    • Dear Florence. There I was dreaming away in Paris and on the same side of the ocean as you. I hope you Christmas and New Years were splendid times for you and those you love, and all my happy wishes for a very good 2015. XX Virginia

  4. Happy New Year my dear friend. I hope your holidays were filled with laughter, fantastic food and delightful wine. You woke me with your clattering pots, as I had drifted off. I wish you and Lar the very, very best and the utmost in happiness. Much Love ………much love……

    • When I was very little and very young it was thrilling to stay up until midnight and welcome in the New Year. It would be bitter cold but we opened the front and back door and then stood outside and banged the pots and pans. All around us through the neighborhood we could hear people doing the same thing. Tinny we had an amazing Christmas Day and a great New Year’s. We look forward to new adventures in 2015. Enormous hugs and special wishes to you and dear August for the very very best New Year. XX OO L & V

Leave a Reply

