FOREVER CHIC … Le Femme Francaise d’un Certain Age

photo+(19)

 

I am a woman of a certain age.  La Femme Francaise d’un Certain Âge

It is my wish on my birthdays to celebrate a life well lived.  To celebrate with elan, grace, elegance, humor and a glass or two of Champagne.  To celebrate with family and friends.  To celebrate with cake and sparklers.  To celebrate with joy and happiness this life of mine.

FOREVER CHIC by Tish Jett is a book divulging French women’s secrets for timeless beauty, style and substance.  What makes this book different is the advice is for older woman.   The significant chapters deal with hair, skin care and fashion.  Take your little black book and pencil in the lists, the suggested products and the ideal must-have fashions.  Some of the products may not be available to you or prohibitively expensive but there is an encouraging abundance of excellent ideas.

If you have little time for this type of book you can skim read the mantras that make French women  appear younger than their years and more stylish than runway models.  But their thoughts on beauty regimes and fashions  will inspire and encourage you to accentuate your strengths and conceal your weaknesses.

 

chanel-4

I don’t understand how a woman can leave the house without fixing herself up a little  –  if only out of politeness.  And then, you never know, maybe that’s the day she has a date with destiny.  And it’s best to be as pretty as possible for destiny.” – Coco Chanel

I am not embarrassed to admit I never leave the house without  make-up and the right clothes for the occasion.   Sometimes it is simply bright red lipstick, perfectly pressed chinos  and a classic white shirt.  It is never t-shirts with silly words, flip-flops and baggy ripped jeans.   This does require effort and discipline but organization makes it possible.  I do like to do things the easy way.  Perhaps I am a little bit lazy.  But if all parts of my life are tidy and in order.  If my closets are organized. If my shoes always put away cleaned and polished.   I can accomplish anything.  It is not possible if you live in chaos.

The situation for women of a certain age is this.    The children are grown up.  You have less obligations. You may live alone.   Perhaps you have retired.   Why not look your very best? Recently I went to a convention for women volunteers.  I was late arriving and sat in the back row.  From this vantage point I looked at the back of about 300 women well over a certain age.  The majority of the women had their steel gray hair cut so short that from where I sat it looked like a room of men dressed in women’s clothes.

FOREVER CHIC is inspiration and encouragement for those of us getting older.   Why not do it the French way – with grace and style.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “FOREVER CHIC … Le Femme Francaise d’un Certain Age

  1. You are one classy lady……..and it shows.
    Which day exactly is your birthday? August 4?
    Love your far away friend that will see you soon

    • Well you are pretty close Donna Hall. Birthday is August 7th and it is a biggy. Hence the “heads up” attitude. Afte all one can always improve ones self especailly if your have enough bubbly.

  2. So true about the bubbly! And I’m getting that book. I’ve started the downhill slide into leggings although my closet bulges with wonderful slacks and skirts. (And what ever happened to skirts anyway? You can hardly find them in stores anymore.) You’ve inspired me to dress well even if it makes me feel overdressed in this ultra-casual society. No more flipflops….Merci

    • Good Girl!! Flipflops are so damaging to your precious feet… . even with the most perfect pedicure. Remember. You never know when you are going to meet your destiny. XX V.

  3. You ARE forever chic, Virginia, and an inspiration to us of a certain age! It is rather sad to see dress standards falling among many today – at least in my part of the world. I will check this little book out. Cheers to champagne! We always keep a bottle chilled and ready to celebrate life! Hugs to you!

    • Jo Nell we of a certain age must set the bar high. I also see some absolutely atrocious outfits on women who should really know better. Mutton dressed as lamb is a quiet comment I frequently make. We both know how important every day is for we have looked into the abyss and it looked back at us. So darling Jo Nell keep that Champagne on ice and one of these days I will knock on your door and we will celebrate life together. Much love and good wishes for a great day every day – Virginia

  4. Love this post, and agree! Except I don’t polish all my shoes as I mostly wear the latest in fabulous high top sneakers.
    Mom always said I’d have to cut my long hair after 30. Well, that’s one piece of advice I never listened to. My hair is, was & always will be long.
    xoxo

  5. You are absolutely correct Resa dear girl. Long hair for ever!!! I am wearing my hair quite long these days. Fortunate enough to have a with-it high stylist who does not believe women of a certain age should cut their hair short and go gray. High top sneakers. FabulousI You are setting your own unique style. Not a slave to fashion. It is the French way. The Chanel Way. It is YOUR way. I hope you wear then when you are 90.

Leave a Reply

