SAVORY CHEESE AND CHIVE BREAD

IMG_2009

I started baking cakes when I was nine or ten years old.  I made quick breads.  They were the easiest.  No whipping egg whites.  No careful folding of flour. Baking utensils were basic. An egg-beater for whipping egg whites and cream.  A large white bowl for mixing.   A heavy spoon for creaming butter.   The forefinger on my right hand still has a tiny bump on it caused by countless of hours of creaming butter and sugar.

The baking of a loaf cake was also easier.  It did not require a quick oven (very hot).  Simply a nice steady heat.  As the cook I had to regulate the heat of our wood burning stove.  If the wood was cut to thin it would spit and crackle and burn too hot and too quickly.  I would test the heat of the oven by opening it and putting my hand in to feel the heat.  One that was created by medium sized logs burning steadily and quietly. I still find myself double checking an oven temperature in this way.

Savory cakes are popular in France.  The cake salé as it is known   (salé  means salty or savory) is a simple quick bread recipe.  You whisk all the dry ingredients together in one bowl. All the rest in another.  Then gently combine the two.  It takes less than ten minutes to put together and like my youthful loaf cakes requires no special equipment.

I made this savory cheese and chive bread  to serve with aperitifs.  I was celebrating a major birthday and my two sisters were traveling from Prince Albert to Vancouver to help me blow out birthday candles.   The bread is also perfect for brunch, excellent with salads and delicious lightly toasted and buttered.

This version is simple –  using just old cheddar cheese and snipped chives but it also a great way to use those left-over  odd-sized pieces of cheese you have on hand.  It is good with basil or a mix of herbs.  Or you can be creative and mix in diced ham or bacon, toasted chopped nuts, olives, sun-dried tomatoes, or minced shallot.

You can serve this warm but it tastes better when it has cooled completely.  If you’re serving it with drinks, cut it into 8 slices about 1/2 thick, and cut the slices into strips.  SAVORY CHEESE AND CHIVE BREAD   …   Bon Appetite.

 

17 thoughts on “SAVORY CHEESE AND CHIVE BREAD

  1. Oh, I will be trying this one! I love your recipes that can be easily altered and easy to put together is always great. I can imagine your testing the oven as a child! My mother never really let me cook as a child but she did teach me to clean. Mostly I would rather have been outside following my father around the ranch.

    • This is a time saver. You can double the recipe and then divide the batter before you add different cheeses and herbs to each loaf. I love it toasted – if it lasts that long Gayle !

  2. Thank you, Virginia! Yet another recipe I can handle! (not the logs, just the recipe)
    BTW the roasted tomato soup was delicious. There was a small cup left over & I put it in the fridge. The next night, it was a lot thicker, so I used it for the tomato sauce on a pizza! YUM! xoxo

    • We’ve done the same .. pizza sauce … and soup. The perfect recipe. It is going to be a tomato type winter Resa. I have at least fifty to sixty pounds of frozen tomatoes tucked away. I like the thought that far away in Toronto.. you are cooking my recipes. A million XXXOOO V.

      • OMG!!! Well I have no tomatoes frozen, but I will be freezing your tomato recipe to use during the winter! I already have several pasta/soup sauce sizes and a couple of pizza size!
        My Norman came home today with 2 butternut squashes & I’m thinking of roasted squash soup. I’m wondering if you have a recipe for that?

      • Along withe the whole frozen tomatoes I have a freezer full of roasted squash (butternut of course). Clever Norman for putting the butternut squash in his grocery bag. Last week I made a gorgeous soup and I shall E Mail you the recipe soonest. Butternut squash will keep several months in a cool dark place. The trip is to turn the squash regularly so moisture does not build in one area. I am also keeping whole butternut squash in this manner. XXXOOO Virginia.

      • I do exactly that. Then when I want some tomatoes for sauce etc. I put the frozen tomatoes in a bowl of hot water for a couple of seconds and skin simply slips off. I always have a big in the freezer section of my refrigerator, the rest in a chest deep-freeze. Bon Appetit Resa. XXXOOO

      • TY!!! I don’t have a big deep freeze, but I’ll do a small freezer load as my fridge does have a large freezer!
        We had Squash Soup last night, & it was very yummy! I now have 3 large tubs in my freezer. I love this freezing of food!

    • Yes oh yes My dear Tinny. It’s only been four months since we swanned around the front patio… sipping wine and waving at the world passing by… AND I MISS IT. And the boys … they did such a magnificent job polishing the crystal. Let’s have another slice of that cheese bread. …. KISSES AND HUGS.

Leave a Reply

