TO CELEBRATE THE LOVE OF PARIS

THE BEAUTIFUL EYE

FALLS IN LOVE WITH PARIS ALL OVER AGAIN

104245253_2bccc5c556_o

I have a little house in Paris

The door opens onto a quiet street.

Around the corner an old bookstore.

And a tiny bistro with a zinc bar.

paris-courtyard

I have a little house in Paris with a courtyard.

Tall windows overlook the courtyard.

Fragrant herbs grow around my door.

4728127-The_fountain_in_the_small_garden_Paris

 Grinning wolves spill water into a stone trough.

 Romulus and Remus.

Guardians of my courtyard.

VilhelmHammershoi+Interior+1914+Ordrupgaard-Copenhagen

I have a house in Paris.

Where enfilade rooms lead quietly into each other.

And ancient wood floors creak a complaining welcome.

french-style-rustic-kitchen

In the kitchen surrounded by gleaming pots

and ancient cutting boards

I sauté  lamb and sausages.

Simmer Tarbais beans to a silky softness.

Crisp the golden duck confit.

The cassoulet bakes.

I break the crust again and then again.

table set

I’ve shined the silver.

Ironed the linen.

Polished the floors.

Edith Piaf fills my little house with songs of love.

81662_22_y

I brush the silver dust of Paris from the balcony railing.

It is that suspended moment in time.

Not day.  Not night.

Twilight.

I lean out.

Far out.

I can see my Monsieur Tinny and beloved Theadora.

Tonight we celebrate our love of Paris.

9 thoughts on “TO CELEBRATE THE LOVE OF PARIS

  1. Oh, Virginia, this is moving and elegant poetry with memories infused with love! Though I have never been to Paris I can feel its magic through you and sense your longing for your house and friends. One of your best posts. May you celebrate together in spirit beyond the miles and time.

    • I was unsure about unlocking the door to my little house in Paris. Then I read Theadora’s post and I knew that it will be possible to return to Paris. We will always have Paris. I just have to close my eyes, and like Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz …click my the heels of my ruby slippers and instantly I’m home. Thank you dear Jo Nell for your lovely words. XX OO Virginia

  2. Yes, what a beautiful post, Virginia. I got a little weepy, of course. My favorite line is: “I brush the silver dust of Paris from the balcony railing.” I’m also thankful to have such wonderful friends in my orbit. i feel very lucky. Thanks for such a moving, loving tribute to friends and Paris, the City of Light. Big Hugs, Theadora

    • “I brush the silver dust of Paris from the balcony railing.” I’m brushing away the sadness. I am looking out for my friends. For Paris. Wanting them to be safe. I shed a few bitter tears when I write Theadora. XXXOOO

  3. Theadora is leading the way back to Paris, Tinny We are following her back to the Paris we know and love. It is the only way to defeat those who would attack our freedom and our lives. XxOO Virginia

Leave a Reply

