DREAMING OF GARDENS

IMG_0004

I dream of gardens.

Camila petals soft and seductive.

I dream of roses.  Roses warm against an old brick wall.

And, splashes of violet.   I would  gather these stars and weave a robe to wear in the moonlight.

 

The whitest peonies I would hang  from a crystal chandelier.

I would braid garlands of irises and create a throne.

Then sit in the gloaming and listen to a weeping violin.

A crimson tulip would light my way into the night where I would close my eyes and dream of joyful gardens.

“Finish each day and be done with it.  You have done what you could.  Some blunders and absurdities no doubt creep in, forget them as soon as you can.  Tomorrow is a day, you shall begin it well and serenely.”  (Ralph Waldo Emerson)

8 thoughts on “DREAMING OF GARDENS

  1. Beautiful flowers to end the day! You have a magical way with words to make it all a better world. I shall try to finish my day and be done with it as Emerson advises. Hugs to you for the beauty you share!

    • Jo Nell, I do try to keep Emerson’s words in mind but some days are so difficult, some memories so painful I have to dig very deep to find my throne of flowers, my robe of purple. But I do. XxOO Virginia

  2. Love these beauties especially against the snow of winter (which I also love.) I’ve always liked that quote, too, although I’ve had to work hard to obtain whatever level of serenity I’ve achieved. 🙂

    janet

    • I understand your efforts for serenity, Janet. Keeping disruptive thoughts out can be difficult. I try to keep negativity out of our home and out of my thoughts. The garden and the process of gardening is very positive. Cheers Virginia

      • I try to walk in the park as often as possible or spend time outside. That’s a big help. I like to work outside, too. Having plants and flowers indoors is helpful as well.

        Happy Wednesday, Virginia.

  3. I dreamed of my spring gardens last night. It was peaceful and exciting all at once. An instant pick-me-up and I woke up in such great humour. You’ve inspired me to get a bouquet for the table! Your irises are outstanding.

    • What delicious dreams to have – garden dreams. Do you have snow where you live, Gayle? Although we have yet to have blooms in the garden, the shops have lovely displays of primroses, daffodils and tulips. They are reasonably priced and give us promises of spring to come. Cheers Virginia

Leave a Reply

