Altered Paris Book

Paris is very much on my mind .   My daughter and I spent  April in Paris.  It is a magical time to be in Paris.   Leafless trees give one superb views  of  magnificent buildings.  The amazing architecture. The tucked away gardens and the beautiful boulevards.   In the quietness of spring  Paris seduces you at every silvery step.

I love books. Especially  old books.    And best of all I love old books that nobody wants. I rescue these orphans that are headed for the recycling bins and turn them into art . Altered book art.

Paris was my inspiration for an altered book.  Appropriately enough the book I used was titled The Hunchback of Notre Dame.  Victor Hugo’s classic became an altered book embellished with silk ribbons, beads and old post cards.

Envelopes contain the detritus two women collect as they embrace everything Paris offered them.

I dream … of a man who can dance.

Ephemera collected for ever in my altered Paris book.

5 thoughts on “Altered Paris Book

    • Here we are – over 130 years after his death – talking about the author and his writing. I think Mr. Hugo would like the Internet and what it gives us. Cheers Virginia

  1. What a gorgeous book, Virginia! I especially love how it’s possible to see Victor Hugo’s words. Paris traces and layers and fabric, too. It reminds me of Hemingway’s quote: “There is never any ending to Paris and the memory of each person who has lived in it differs from that of any other.”

    Say, what does the cover look like?!
    Theadora

Leave a Reply

