CLAFOUTIS A LA RHUBARBE . . . Rhubarb Clafoutis

IMG_2536

Clafouti of any kind makes a simple and wonderful desert, or an absolutely indulgent breakfast.   It’s the kind of dish I keep in my apron pocket for those times when I want to whip up a dessert on short notice.  It’s made by pouring a very rich  eggy batter  similar to pancakes over fresh fruit and baked.   This brilliant  French dessert from the Limousin region  is easy to make and left-overs are equally wonderful as a midnight snack or a breakfast treat.

Originally  clafouti  was made with whole, stoned cherries.   Decadently delicious but the cherry season is short.  Plums, pears and apples work beautifully, but rhubarb produces superb results – almost better than the original.

IMG_2538

Serve it right out of the oven sprinkled with a mixture of powdered sugar and a dash of cinnamon.   The  recipe for  CLAFOUTIS  À  LA RHUBARBE  awaits you  on MRS. BUTTERFINGERS.

 

8 thoughts on “CLAFOUTIS A LA RHUBARBE . . . Rhubarb Clafoutis

    • I read you words and just smiled. Jo Nell I love the idea that I have an apron that is magical. The other day my 8 year old neighbor came by for a visit. I was making tomato sauce. “You can MAKE tomato sauce? It doesn’t come out of a jar?” She was enchanted with the idea. Then I promised the next time I make ice cream and marshmallows she could help. She was over the moon. It is magic to her. XX Virginia

    • I don’t mind admitting that I made the recipe that serves six or so, and there’s only two of us . But it is delicious the next morning with one’s cafe latte! XXX Virginia

Leave a Reply

