ADDENDUM TO THE FRENCH PASTRY TART . . . A COUPLE OF THINGS I FORGET TO TELL YOU ABOUT MAKING FRENCH LEMON TART

IMG_2562

Ahem.  The only excuse I have for omitting these steps in my recipe for FRENCH LEMON TART  is familiarity.  If you were beside me in the kitchen you would see me using a fork pricking the unbaked tart before I filled the shell RIGHT TO THE TOP with beans.  It’s all about keeping your pastry from puffing up and robbing you of space you need for your lemon cream filling.  It’s an automatic step for baking blind pastry.   But how would you know that if this if the first time you have baked blind pastry?

Then there’s the step where you ease your precious pastry gently into the tart pan.  You let the excess  pastry  hang over the edge and using the rolling pin  trim off the edge.  The next step is to gently ease a little of the dough above the edge to compensate for shrinkage.  Here’s the trick to doing this.  YOU DON’T USE YOUR FINGERS.   You take a little of the left over dough and roll it into a small ball.  THIS is what you use to nudge your precious pastry gently above the edge.

This is really not a difficult pastry to make .  You do need a stand mixer.  But it really is “a wink” to make.  Remember practice makes perfect and all tarts don’t have to be filled with lemon cream.   You could spread a little melted chocolate on the bottom of the tart and then fill it with vanilla custard and top it with  fresh strawberries or any other fresh fruit in season.  It will quickly become your “little black dress” of desserts.   Baked or unbaked tart shells can be carefully wrapped and kept in the refrigerator for three days or frozen for three months.  Bon Appetit dear friends.

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “ADDENDUM TO THE FRENCH PASTRY TART . . . A COUPLE OF THINGS I FORGET TO TELL YOU ABOUT MAKING FRENCH LEMON TART

  1. Thanks for the updated tips. I would probably would have automatically pricked the crust (tart) as I do when baking pie crust like this for lemon pie, but I would have used my fingers for the other part. You do so much with a French wink!

    • My father (who was a chef) taught me the trick about the pastry dough ball. It works especially well when you are using a fluted tart tin. By the by Jo Nell.Another tip he taught me was lightly greasing your pie plate. Bon Appetit Virginia

  2. I’m a bit tardy with the blogging for awhile. I’m back in Ottawa doing another show for the CBC.
    Also, Sensitive Skin 2 starring Kim Cattrall premiers om May 15 at 8:30 on HBO Canada. I designed the costumes for that one, too! xo

    • I am so proud and impressed with you, dear Resa. You are brilliant. We are looking forward to catching all the action on Sensitive Skin. XXX Virginia

Leave a Reply

