PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES . . . delicate light morsels of delight!

IMG_2742

Do we really need another peanut butter cookie recipe?  Absolutely!    When a peanut butter cookie recipe is this good it cries out to be shared.        I spent part of my summer with my two sisters in my home town,  Prince Albert, Saskatchewan.  Sister Heather whipped up these melt-in-your-mouth morsels of delight to serve during a Duplicate Bridge Tournament.  What makes these cookies more than just another peanut butter cookie is their delicate lightness.  If you are a lover of all things peanut butter they are definitely worthy of adding to your collection of cookie recipes.

The secret to good cookie  making is to always cream your butter and sugar really well.  At least five or preferably ten minutes.  Then beat in the eggs thoroughly one at a time.  Stir in the flour briefly  – just until it is combined with the flour.  In this recipe it is ESSENTIAL to refrigerator the dough for at least one hour.

These  cookies are very rich.  Roll the dough into small one inch balls and bake on a parchment lined sheet.       Then if you really want to gild the lily, and make your bridge partner happy, melt some chocolate with heavy cream.  Let the chocolate cool and  sandwich the cookies with the ganache.    Such indulgence!

The recipe makes 50 to 60 cookies.   I set up an assembly line.  I prefer to bake my cookies one sheet at a time.  I have one batch of cookies in the oven.  One batch cooling.  And a third batch waiting to be baked.     To  balance the sweetness of the cookies I listen to  Tom Watts growl his way through his newest album BAD AS ME. 

The recipe awaits you in MRS BUTTERFINGERS kitchen.  DUPLICATE BRIDGE PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES.

20 thoughts on “PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES . . . delicate light morsels of delight!

    • Becky, I adore peanut butter cookies and collect recipes going back seventy years. This is one of the best I have made. It is so light and delicate but incredibly rich and buttery. Cheers Virginia

    • I’m happy to put peanut butter with almost anything. Growing up my fav sandwich was peanut butter and lettuce fresh from our garden. What’ not to love!! Cheers Virginia

  1. Peanut butter is not something that I eat but I do like it in peanut butter cookies. Husband loves peanut butter and cookies so I will save this recipe for later. He is trying to shed a few pounds and these cookies would not help right now as he is my Cookie Monster. I am sure they are delectable!

Leave a Reply

