IN PRAISE OF TOMATOES

 

I take just two ingredients,

Glittering  gray diamonds of sea salt

Gorgeous  globes  of

sun-kissed tomatoes,

I embrace my laziness

and stand over the kitchen sink,

juice running down my arms

Eating tomatoes.

It is perfection.

 

For dinner I’ll put summer on the table with this  salad  made with tomatoes and nothing else.  Just a drizzle of the finest extra-virgin olive oil,  some torn basil leaves, a few grinds of  pepper and salt.  No aged balsamic vinegar –  just these perfect vine-ripened tomatoes.

Any  tomatoes left over I’ll put on  a few slices of toasted artisan bread with mayo, a sprinkle of sea salt and a couple of grinds of pepper.  I’ll eat it open face.  Sublime.  You can’t improve upon perfection.

8 thoughts on “IN PRAISE OF TOMATOES

  1. I totally agree that a few grains of salt and perhaps a drizzle of good olive oil is all that is needed with a ripened tomato. I’ll save the balsamic for the ones we get in winter when they need all the help they can get. 🙂

  2. Gorgeous lighting. Gorgeous shot, Virginia. Do you have a favorite tomato plant? I’d like to try to grow some “Julia Child” tomatoes. I’m a tomato fanatic. It’s not a meal without at least one slice! ~Theadora

    • This year I planted tomato seeds we received from The Tin Man. Like magic the tomatoes from the Emerald City grew to astonishing heights with branches swooning to the ground under there heavy load of fruit. Miss T, I’m not familiar with Julia Child Tomato. Do tell! My favorite tomato is a variety called Compari. It is the only tomato I can find in the produce and grocery stores that actually taste like tomatoes. I tried to buy the seeds but they are only sold commercially – by the pound. So I cut a campari into slices and planted them in starting pots. Presto! I had my tiny plants and eventually they were transplanted into the garden. Victory! XX Virginia

Leave a Reply

