CAN YOU BAKE A FLAPPER PIE, BILLY BOY BILLY BOY?

FLAPPER PIE is a dessert creation unique to the Canadian Prairies.    It was in every housewife’s cooking repertoire.  For several very good reasons.  One – it was easy to make with a never fail graham cracker crumb crust.  Second – twelve months of the year you had the ingredients in your kitchen.  And last of all – this nursery food with just a few ingredients – was adored by all who had the good fortune to enjoy it for dessert. When I first made flapper pie I used a hand egg beater to whip the egg whites.  It was  a physical workout.    Then I acquired a Sunbeam MixMaster.  I was in cooking heaven.  I could whip up one of these delicious pies faster than you could drink a pot of tea.  Flapper Pie did have one draw-back.  It didn’t keep well.  Sadly you were forced to consume it all  the day you made it.  That said if you could not accomplish this feat – soft  crust and all it was still not bad the next day.

For the recipe gather your graham cracker crumbs and head over to MRS.BUTTERFINGERS.

9 thoughts on “CAN YOU BAKE A FLAPPER PIE, BILLY BOY BILLY BOY?

  1. This Flapper Pie sounds like it could have been popular with Texas women too! One must always have a simple recipe handy. I remember that my mother had a basic white cake recipe that she could whip up as the coffee was brewing. I still have it.

    • These are the recipes we treasure, Jo Nell. They remind us of simpler times and good values. Women were not expected to turn out patisserie style complicated desserts. I still refer to my Blue Ribbon Cookbook. I started using it more than seventy years ago. I love the extraordinarily brief directions and the suggest that this recipe requires a quick oven!! I know that means stock up on kindling because a hot over is necessary. Bon Appetit to good memories. Virginia

Leave a Reply

